Angel Rewatch – Podcast for 4.20 “Sacrifice”

4x20_top.png

Here is the podcast covering episode twenty of season four “Sacrifice”

You can download it here.

Please leave feedback by commenting on the post here, emailing the angelrewatch@gmail.com or sending a voicemail to 206-203-3276. And please leave a review on iTunes.

Next, we will be covering episode twenty-one of season four, “Peace Out” where Angel travels to another dimension to defeat Jasmine.

2 responses to “Angel Rewatch – Podcast for 4.20 “Sacrifice””

  1. Cathleen says :

    Peace Out – Felt like this episode was going through the motions on taking out the big bad, Jasmine, but I liked that it was Connor that took her out instead of Angel.

    Connor is so completely broken. His speech to comatose Cordy in the church is pretty heartbreaking. When the episode first came out I completely ignored the speech as I was so tired of whiny Connor this late in the season. I think I even put it on mute a couple times when I rewatched it. This is only the 2nd time I’ve now rewatched the episode and listened to what Connor says and I wish I hadn’t ignored it previously as it is pretty damn heartbreakingly perfect. This kid has lost so much and had his entire childhood essentially stolen from him. He’s so broken not even Jasmine could bring him any kind of peace. It’s just such a pity that the show took so long to show this kind of emotion from Connor and gave Vincent a decent scene he could completely nail. Too bad only comatose Cordy was around to not witness it.

    Oh and Lilah’s back – yay!!!!

  2. Joseph says :

    I loved this episode. LIke the season overall, it’s cool parts were so cool that I can’t get upset by the dumb parts.

    Yes, Angel’s quest was conveniently easy, and depended on the key scaring away all the bugs, and on his gate somehow leading straight back to the Hyperiom and a bodyless head being able to speak a last word, and there’s no explanation for why the Guardian and the Keeper have feet, but I still loved how alien the bug dimension felt, and I loved the fight, where Angel obviously had the physical advantage, but the Guardian kept getting in Angel’s head.

    There wasn’t much of a story about the gang, and Cordy was literally a prop, so the story was basically just Angel and Connor and Jasmine, and the weak part was definitely Connor. He had a couple effective moments, but the more we saw of him, the less I liked him. I wonder whether some of the problem with Connor and Dawn is that in Buffy Season 1, we saw teenagers from their own perspective – the adults didn’t understand and didn’t help, but Buffy, Xander and WIllow took agency and fought the monster. WIth Connor and Dawn, we saw teenagers from an adult’s perspective – they spent a lot of time complaining that no one understands them, but we empathize more with Buffy and Angel than with Connor and Dawn.

    But even when I lost interest in Connor, I loved this episode. Most of all, I loved the confrontation between Angel and Jasmine. From the moment he looked up and said “I’m sorry” to the moment she died, I loved it. I don’t think I’ve seen a big bad confrontation anywhere in Angel or Buffy that felt so much like it mattered. This wasn’t just some scenery chewing, wisecracking big bad with a plan to pull the world into hell – it mattered to Jasmine and to Angel, and it was great to watch them talk between punches.

    And you have to love Angel trying to redeem a fallen god, telling her that she can start doing good and trying to undo some of the damage she’s done. Is there a moment we’ve seen that’s more Angel than that?

Leave a Reply

