Angel Rewatch – Podcast for 4.20 “The Magic Bullet”

The Magic Bullet

Here is the podcast covering episode nineteen of season four “The Magic Bullet”

You can download it here.

Please leave feedback by commenting on the post here, emailing the angelrewatch@gmail.com or sending a voicemail to 206-203-3276. And please leave a review on iTunes.

Next, we will be covering episode twenty of season four, “Sacrifice” where the team scrambles to escape Jasmine and her mind controlled maniacs.

4 responses to “Angel Rewatch – Podcast for 4.20 “The Magic Bullet””

  1. originaljoseph says :

    Yikesl – I hadn’t realized my voicemail was so terrible. Totally my fault – I usually listen to them, and I’ve never had that much feedback before. Sorry to anyone who suffered through it! I promise, I’ll do better from now on.

    On reflection, I guess what I really like about the Skip speech was what it means for Angel – first Angel thought that his miracles on Buffy meant that he was intended for some higher purpose, then he decided that there was no purpose so he needed to define his own, and now Skip’s reveal indicates that Angel was actually intended for an evil purpose. I think that’s cool enough that I guess I head cannoned the rest of the speech into making sense. In fact, due to Buffy crossover issues, I don’t think Skip even mentions what happened to Angel on Buffy, which is IMHO the most important part by far. 🙂

  2. originaljoseph says :

    I had forgotten everything about Sacrifice except Wesley getting called “Talky Meat.” Note that I’ve rewatched the rest, I don’t like it at all. There are basically three interlocking stories, none of which worked for me.

    The main story is that Angel gives up on feelings again, but then finds his champion role again. It didn’t feel earned, and the Peter Pan sewer kids took me out of whatever story there was.

    The B story was about Connor and Jasmine. That seemed well done, and I’m still interested in Jasmine, but I don’t care enough about Connor to care about this story.

    The last bit was the dialogue between Wesley and the bug. It’s funny, and it’s interesting to watch Wesley work, but at the end of the day, I didn’t buy it. It was just too easy for Wesley to learn about Jasmine”s weakness, about the portal key, and about the atmosphere in the bug dimension all from one conversation.

  3. originaljoseph says :

    PS: if you haven’t read Vincent Kartheiser’s comments on Angel, they’re worth reading. (Spoilers for a character who will be added in Season 5, but otherwise he sticks to what we’ve seen.)

    Basically, he says that Whedon was busy with Firefly, he never understood why his character kept doing the same things over and over, and that he basically checked out.

    http://ohnotheydidnt.livejournal.com/15242440.html

  4. originaljoseph says :

    PPS: I thought the special effects on the last Jasmine shot were poorly thought out – her wounds indicated the gang was slashing her followers’ throats, stabbing them in the heart, etc., and we’ve never seen them fight humans like that. I know, bruises wouldn’t have looked as impressive, but I just don’t believe the gang is fighting to kill mind controlled innocents.

Leave a Reply

