Angel Rewatch – Podcast for 4.16 “Players”

Angel416_220.jpg

Here is the podcast covering episode sixteen of season four “Players”

You can download it here.

Please leave feedback by commenting on the post here, emailing the angelrewatch@gmail.com or sending a voicemail to 206-203-3276. And please leave a review on iTunes.

Next, we will be covering episode seventeen of season four, “Inside Out” where as Cordelia prepares to give birth Angel Investigations discovers that she, or a dark force controlling hers is the Beast’s master.

3 responses to “Angel Rewatch – Podcast for 4.16 “Players””

  1. Joseph says :

    I wanted to respond to the “Season so far” discussion in the Players rewatch. I know, TV is totally subjective, but other than the Cordelia plotline, I still think this has been the best season so far.

    – I love the season long plot, and so far, I’m not bored with the cliffhangers. Seasons 2 and 3 of Game of Thrones have an even worse case of cliffhanger disease, where every single episode seems to end on the first half of a dramatic sequence. Season 4 Angel isn’t quite that breakneck of a pace, but I liked that the pace keeps things moving forward, even when there isn’t much happening.

    – I think I’ll defend the characterization as well. I don’t expect all of my characters to have a tight few episodes where they learn something new and change. I think it’s much more common, and in my opinion effective, to see an existing character in a new circumstance and see how they react. In that respect, Season 4 reminds me a little of the Dominion War arc in Deep Space Nine, where we get to see how the characters react under constant pressure and apparently unbeatable odds. Wesley’s evolution goes without saying, but we’ve also seen Fred mature into a more somber, less flibbertigibbet aspect after confronting Seidel and now that she’s on her own. Gunn is exploring a more independent role, Connor is being twisted into a knot, and Angel has shown us some more of the relationship between his personalities. So far, so good, IMHO.

    – For what it’s worth, I remember loving the end of this season. I think it’s better than anything we’ve seen so far.

    • Joseph says :

      Inside Out: I’m not sure how I feel about this episode. I liked parts of it a whole lot, including:

      – Angel telling Wes that he was sorry Lilah died because Lilah mattered to Wes.

      – Angel’s fight with Skip, and later on, Wes’s gun-fu.

      – As a continuity nerd, I’m pretty excited to get the answer of why Angel was saved in Epiphany and why he got out of Hell. Hopefully, it hang’s together. (More on that in the “I’m not sure” section, below)

      – Connor’s choice was devastating. I thought I wouldn’t care, but by the end, I believed it, and it broke my heart.

      – Angel’s decision to kill Cordy was also very effective. Again, believable and very affecting, although of course he wouldn’t be able to stop the big bad with this much more of the season to go.

      I’m not sure how I feel about the evil baby’s master plan. I guess I buy that it was vulnerable until born, and that if Cordy had just run away with the beast, Angel would have tracked her down. I’m not sure the plot would hang together if I really thought about it, and I didn’t have a “Usual Suspects” moment of thinking “Of course, now it all makes sense,” but on the other hand, I am excited to learn more about Angel’s mythology.

      I’m also not sure how I felt about Julie Benz’s performance. It was very affecting in some parts, and weirdly flat in others.

  2. Ashlie says :

    So Faith leaves and Gwen returns. I kind of wish we would have got them to interact with each other. I like that Gunn gets something to do, but didn’t he like just break up with Fred, and now he’s hooking up with Gwen? I don’t blame him, she’s kind hot and I’d rather him be with her than Fred. I don’t really care about the reveal of evil Cordy at the end, cause it’s not a reveal to the audience. We’ve just been waiting for the team to catch up to us. An ugh Connor. At least he knows how we feel about him. His line about him being a father and all they can do is laugh cause they don’t like him. For some reason it makes me think of Anakin Skywalker. lol. From here the rest of the season just goes downhill in my opinion until the very last episode.

    So you guys mentioned that I seem pretty down on season 4. I did mention that I liked some of the early season episodes. I think overall, season 4 is ok if you watch the episodes back to back. The overall plot with evil Cordy and Connor is just terrible and hard to watch sometimes. I do enjoy almost half of the season’s episodes, most of which have little to do with the Connor/Cordy plot. I’m not as down on season 4 as most, but it’s just a big disappointment. I think a part of the problem is that the narrative goes away from the established theme that started the show, and it doesn’t work. I prefer Angel Investigations to…well investigate things and help people. Season 4 is just too consumed with the big bads. And like Fred says, “it’s a bit icky”. Here are the episodes that I do like, 1-3, 6, 9, 13-16 and 22.

Leave a Reply

