Angel Rewatch – Podcast for 4.06 “Spin the Bottle”

 

s4_SpinTheBottle_promo6

 

Here is the podcast covering episode six of season four “Spin the Bottle”.

You can download it here.

Please leave feedback by commenting on the post here, emailing the angelrewatch@gmail.com or sending a voicemail to 206-203-3276. And please leave a review on iTunes.

Next week, we will be covering episode seven of season four, “Apocalypse, Nowish” where the end of the world begins kind of quickly.

2 responses to “Angel Rewatch – Podcast for 4.06 “Spin the Bottle””

  1. Cathleen says :

    Apocalypse Nowish – An episode I love and yet hate at the same time. I loved everything not involving Connor & Cordy together. The gang getting inundated with calls for the strange and unusual, Lilah and Wes’s roleplay, Connor calling Angel “Dad,” Cordy telling Angel about experiencing his past as Angelus, the entrance of the Beast, Gavin’s starring role as a hostage, and Gunn’s shining moment of solving the map that led to easily one of the best fight sequences of the entire series. And if only I stopped the episode there at the end of the gang’s giant fight with the beast it would end up been one of the strongest episodes of season 4 but sadly the final sequence of Connor and Cordy sleeping together brings the entire episode down. Worst decision of the series is all I’ll say about it.

  2. Kate says :

    Hi guys! I have loved the Buffyverse all my life, watched and re-watched both series many times, and recently stumbled upon the Buffy rewatch and now the Angel rewatch too! I am glad I caught you guys now because I have so many opinions to voice and missed the chance to do so while the Buffy rewatch was airing!

    Apocalyse, Nowish is and always will be one of my favourite Angel episodes. The way that the puzzle pieces come together is masterful — not just for the impending apocalypse, but for the gang itself. Gunn and Fred, Connor and Cordy, Angel and Cordy, Wes and Lilah, The Gang and Wes, etc. For me, this is the point in Season Four where everything finally clicks.

    I am so glad that we get a pay-off for the material that got sucked out of Lorne’s head from WR&H. It makes sense as to why Lorne was so upset by it at the time, at yet it makes me wonder why, in the face of such impending doom, Lorne wouldn’t warn Angel and the gang. I also love that Gunn is the one who cracks the code with those papers from WR&H. On the DVD commentary, one of the writers (I think Stephen S. DeKnight) explains that it had to be Gunn in order to remind everyone that he’s more than just a) muscle and b) Fred’s lover, which I personally think is always a welcome reminder. It reminds me of (potential spoiler warning) Buffy 3×12 where Buffy loses her powers kills a vampire with only Holy Water, reminding us that she is more than just her slayer strength.

    I want to avoid talking about Cordy and Connor because I know you guys will cover all of our icky feelings about it, but I will say that I found it disappointing after Spin The Bottle, which was an episode so focussed on the characterisation of Cordelia in Sunnydale then afterwards, that they would do this. Even after she had spent all the time in the creepy taxidermist loft with Connor with her amnesia, the original Cordelia would never do that!

Leave a Reply

