Angel Rewatch – Podcast for 3.13 “Waiting in the Wings”

WaitingWings

Here is the podcast covering episode thirteen of season three “Waiting in the Wings”.

You can download it here.

Please leave feedback by commenting on the post here, emailing the angelrewatch@gmail.com or sending a voicemail to 206-203-3276. And please leave a review on iTunes.

Next week, we will be covering episode fourteen of season three, “Couplet”, where Angel wonders if the team needs him anymore now that Groo has moved to LA.

4 responses to “Angel Rewatch – Podcast for 3.13 “Waiting in the Wings””

  1. thehistoryofbyzantium says :

    Trying to keep up with you guys watching Angel has been a difficult experience at times. I’m often an episode behind and watch the episodes in 2 or 3 sittings whenever I can sneak in a 10 minute break.

    As a result I know that my view of the show is that of a distracted and distant observer. With that caveat in mind my own reaction to the two love triangles has been quite different from how I felt on first watch.

    Back then I saw Angel live each week after Buffy and was in the pro-Angel and Wesley camp. Whereas on rewatch I find it hard to get fully behind an Angel-Cordelia love story because of the huge elephant in the room. His curse. I suppose the various prophecies hint at a future where he might become human. But am I alone in thinking he should probably be saving humanity for at least a century more to make up for all the horror he caused?

    As for Wesley, I now look back on my support for him as partly due to him being the more developed and familiar character. But I suspect partly also due to simple racism. I hope you will all take that in the spirit that its meant. That as a geeky white boy myself my natural sympathy was with Wesley. So far on rewatch the show has been admirably pro-Gunn but we’ll see if that lasts.

    Keep up the great work.

  2. cainimtruax says :

    Let’s talk about Couplet

    The giant web surfing catfishing tree monster is conveniently not made of wood when Angel needs to defeat it. How convenient. Did I detect a bit of social commentary there or perhaps a warning for those of us who might sometimes live a little too much online.

    Nah, I’m projecting definitely projecting.

    This episode played a bit like a teenage geek wish fulfillment tale. I was once a socially awkward young fellow who had a passionate crush on a beautiful intelligent funny gal but of course since I didn’t feel inherently worthy of happiness or her, I gladly became the noble friend. I felt more comfortable as a martyr than the hero of my own story.

    Angel ‘s story here makes me think my experience may not have been unique.

    So, man up Angel!

    And wow Wesley is full on creepy now. Someone this close to tilt is undoubtedly about to make some iffy decisions.

    As funny as some of this is there is actually a lovely sadness hanging here that nicely crosses into dread with the perfect cliffhanger moment.

    I didn’t remember this being this good.

    76

    • Joseph says :

      Yes, Angel can’t go into the sun, but when someone needs to have a tree root stuck through their heart, it’s a conveniently non-wooden tree root. I would have liked to see him chop the root with that giant sword, then just punch the tree in the face until it gave up.

      Speaking of which, this goes back to my “Provider” comment – Team Angel is good at defeating monsters, but they don’t loot the bodies nearly often enough. That tree must have had a stash of lonely hearts’ worldly possessions – that could keep Connor in Notre Dame onesies indefinitely, or allow Cordy to order Dom Perignon for her sex romp!

  3. Joseph says :

    Couplet

    – Overall, this episode had a lot of good parts, but just didn’t wow me overall. I’m just not that invested in the romances, and at this point, I don’t care about Wesley’s first translation of any prophesy, and don’t see why anyone else would.

    – I like the title. A couplet is a pair of rhyming lines and Angel and Wes’s stories echo each other in a rhyming sort of way – similar, but not identical.

    – I don’t find myself on Team Wes or Team Gunn. It’s sad that Wesley is so lonely and self-loathing, but this isn’t really a story about anyone who “deserves” to be together, it’s just a story about people.

    – Also, the evolving relationship between Wes and Gunn is actually more interesting than Gunn and Fred or Cordy and Angel. Wes was a patronising douche, sure, but their last scene together was solid and true to both their characters.

    – I’m not sure what to make of the first act. Angel was playing his emotional reactions so broadly that while it was funny, I can’t see how Cordy wouldn’t notice. She can’t be pretending not to notice – if she were, her comments would be unbelievably cruel. It seems like she’s convinced that Angel is committed not to have a romance with anyone.

    – The episode did have one nice fake-out. When Gru said “There is something holding you back, Princess,” I assumed Cordy was going to realize that she loved Angel, or at least that she didn’t love Gru, but then the show swerved nicely.

Leave a Reply

