Angel Rewatch – Podcast for 2.06 “Guise Will Be Guise”

Angel_2x06

Here is the podcast covering episode six of season two, “Guise Will Be Guise”.

Download here or subscribe to us on iTunes or Stitcher

Please leave feedback by commenting on the post here, emailing the angelrewatch@gmail.com or sending a voicemail to 206-203-3276. And please leave a review on iTunes.

Next week, we will be covering episode seven of season two, “Darla”, where Darla begins to feel guilt for her vampire past.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

7 responses to “Angel Rewatch – Podcast for 2.06 “Guise Will Be Guise””

  1. Cainim says :

    3 thoughts for William and Derek about “Darla”

    1. Do any of the flashbacks give us insight into why the Master chose Darla to turn? Could it be her profession? Or her attitude toward God and religion which vampire Darla continues to express?

    2. Maybe this isn’t human Darla or vampire Darla turned human and soulful that has been returned. Maybe this is a whole new being, some kind of innocent creature burdened with the memories of another. Unlikely what the writers intended but a fun thought experiment.

    3. Did this episode have too much walking dramatically forward action or just the right amount?

    72 out of 100

  2. thehistoryofbyzantium says :

    I thought “Darla” was a very strong episode. The rich back-story made Angel and Darla’s emotions feel real. And gave the story a sense of consequence that the show has lacked so far. Having your main character be immortal and unable to form sexual relationships limits the sense of consequence that is key to good drama. But by bringing back someone he has such complicated feelings for the writers have finally found what was missing.

  3. Joseph says :

    Darla:

    This was a powerful episode. I loved the flashbacks, even with the stupid hair, and even loved the “Whirlwind’s” power walk, all 17 minutes of it. They did a lot to build up the emotional weight of the Darla-Angel relationship. I think there’s some more resonance to Drusilla now, too – with the Master, Dru, and Spike on screen, we’re seeing Darla’s family; the people who were important to her in her prior life.

    – Does every Darla episode lead up to a twist ending? (E.g., It’s Darla in the box, Darla’s visiting Angel for real, Darla’s human, and now Darla wants to be turned.) At some point those twists might start to get predictable, like an M. Night Shaymalan movie, but so far I love the twists and Darla’s creepy theme music.

    – Julie Benz also does a great job bringing the creepy factor, both in modern LA and the flashbacks – some of it is that she’s playing against type. She’s so tiny and has that little girl voice, but she can play unhinged and scary quite well.

    – Everybody in the Angel gang is really clicking as a character now. I loved Wesley’s visit to Angel’s room, the whole gang trying to track down Darla, and Cordy saying “You’re not alone.” Gunn was great when he solved the “how to find Darla” problem, but I liked him even better when he was wisecracking from offscreen after the break-in.

    – I think we’re supposed to be interested in Lindsay, but I’m not. I don’t even dislike him. For me, he’s basically a non-entity, like that security guard Darla shot. Holland, on the other hand, is interesting . . .

  4. Joseph says :

    Guise Will Be Guise: I’m with Andrew from Tacoma – this is one of my favorite episodes. I guess it’s fundamentally goofy and unbelievable, but the first syllable in “fundamentally goofy” is “fun”, and I’ll forgive the “damentally goofy” part if it’s fun enough, and this easily was.

    (I admit, I wrote the paragraph above mostly in part I want to hear William try to read it, but I also mean it 100%.)

    For what it’s worth, I was pretty confident that Angel murdered the fake swami, which I guess makes for a jarring transition when he switches to “can I have my coat back,” but it was all funny enough that I didn’t notice at the time.

    Here’s a meta thought: There’s a comic book term, “writing for the trades,” which means now that comic writers know that a lot of their readers are going to be reading once the books are collected in trade paperbacks, they tend to write longer arcs and fewer standalone stores, because the books are going to be read in 4 or 6 book chunks.

    I think something similar happened with DVDs and Netflix. Angel is still in the middle, and is probably closer to an X-Files narrative style, where you have an overall arc interrupted by frequent monster of the week episodes, than it is to a Breaking Bad style where most or all of the episodes drive the narrative in some way.

    I can understand wanting to see a consistent story, but I’m personally fine with a standalone break from the Darla plot, as long as it’s enjoyable.

  5. Joseph says :

    Untouched:

    – In hindsight, I think the writers were trying to use the choice of whether to kill her father as a light side/dark side or Angel/Lilah choice for Bethany, so I think we were supposed to think that Angel knew Bethany wouldn’t kill her father, but it definitely didn’t play that way.

    – There were some questions about Lilah and Lindsey in this episode. I think that part of Holland’s job is to drag Lilah and Lindsey deeper into evil, just like Lilah was trying to do with Bethany and Wolfram and Hart is apparently trying to do with Angel.

    – It makes sense that that’s something a manager in an evil organization would do, and Holland seems pretty good at it. Lindsay needed the prospect of going back to being a poor nobody to cement him more firmly in the organization, and Lilah needs a combination of competing with Lindsey and fearing for her own life.

  6. Ashlie says :

    ‘Guise Will Be Guise’
    I like this episode, I think it’s pretty funny and entertaining. I like Wesley pretending to be Angel. I thought the twists were predictable but they worked. Angel talking to the Swami was nice.

    ‘Darla’
    I love this episode, it’s great to get more of Darla’s back story. The flashbacks are great. I believe this is the episode that aired right after Buffy’s ‘Fool For Love’ which is great because it expands on the scene during the Boxer Rebellion, and we fight out that Angel had a soul then. I love seeing more of the Master. I wonder what Darla’s real name was? Not even she knows, which is kind of sad, it’s no wonder she doesn’t know how to live like a human. She can’t remember.I find it curious that Angel says he never loved Darla, but I think that Angelus did care about her, when he’s talking to the Master about giving Darla a proper place to live. Julie Benz is great. That scene in Lindsey’s office where she’s confused and doesn’t know who she is, is great. I love that Angel wants to help Darla seek redemption, it’s similar to the Faith story. Both women want to take the easy way out. So Angel loses his accent when he gains his soul, I guess this is to distinguish him from Angelus.

    • meags says :

      In response to the question of whether Angel/Angelus loved Darla, I feel it’s more of a Stockholm Syndrome type connection. He seems to idolize her as some sort of ideal rather than as someone he truly connects with and admires. It’s a weird mother/son fetishized relationship that is both erotic and codependent. I think Angelus wanted to impress Darla and woo her, and make her proud of what she had created.

      I also think Derek inadvertently said what part of Liam came through to Angel – his lack of superior intellect seems to have always been there.

      I didn’t notice before, but I guess Darla was from the colonies in America, which explains her American accent.

Leave a Reply

